Posted by: oboids | May 3, 2007

Photoshop CS – Fucking Hard!

Ghad! I didn’t know that learning Photoshop will be this hard.

I started with this picture.

5.jpg

Figure 1.0

My goal was to make it look like a drawing without resorting to using ‘filter’. So, I searched online and found out that I would need to change the figure to a sketch to create an outline for the drawing. One site offered a solution, I simply followed it and here’s my output.

sketch.jpg

Figure 2.0

I was doing fine so far. But, what am I gonna do next? Maybe I should start by putting in some hairs. Problem is I don’t know how. Good thing I browsed the brushes-palette and saw ‘dune grass’. I set my brush to using it, only I had to figure out how to flip and rotate it. I wanted to learn it so bad that I actually read Adobe Help until my brain hurts. And still I was having a hard time figuring out the trick. But hey, I didn’t give up.

After almost two hours, I was able to finally create the drawing’s hair and also it’s ear – which I had to cut from some other picture, and had to figure out how to rotate and paste on the drawing. By this time, my eyes was already hurting from reading Adobe Help.

What the fuck are paths? And who the heck is Vector?

hair.jpg

Figure 3.0

I was a little more patient though. So, what I did is to check mangarevolution.com and see if I’ll learn a few more tricks there. Luckily I did, I learned how to adjust my brush. Whew, I guess I can now start painting.

boboo1.jpg

Figure 4.0

I don’t understand why every time I click the mouse and start painting the color changes. I am so freaked out. I wanted to use the paint bucket instead because I am used to using it, but if I use it I’ll end up changing the color of the canvas. So I had to read Adobe Help again, this time read it from start to finish.

I had to figure out the layers, the channels, the pen tool (which I didn’t use anyway).

I actually had to bleed my brains out to understand most of the drawing topics. And as soon as I can make sense of what Help is trying to say, I test it.

So after 5 hours of trying to learn Photoshop, here is my final output.

redman.jpg

It doesn’t look cartoons and it is so red. Wahhh! I sooo need Adobe Photoshop for Dummies!😦


Responses

  1. Congratulations!

    You are a finalist in the The G* Spot Weblog of the Month for May 2007!

    You can claim your finalist button on the left sidebar of this Site:
    http://www.khalelian.blogspot.com

    Good Luck!!!!

  2. dropped by. exchange links? =)

  3. Its kinda good (or maybe I just like the bloody dark aspect of it), reminds me a lot of Battle Royale. Nga pala, if you really need that Photoshop book, my sister has one hanging around the house somewhere. Di ko naman magamit kc sira ang photoshop ko. huhuhu.

  4. @The G* Spot Award – Wow! Ang galeng, nde nga? Nominated ako? Wow, astig! First time. Shet ang saya naman. Sana makakuha ako ng kahit kunting vote para di nakakahiya…nyahahaha!!!

    @balbahutog – Oo ba! Ang cute naman ng avatar mo sa site mo..baby pic..cute! Nakakagigil! Hehe. Sige, I’ll link you. :p

    @Q – Wow! Sige pahiram, i email mo nalang sakin pre para madownload ko. Hehehe. Btw, I’ll link you dude. :p

  5. Not bad!

    (At least, you spent your 5 hours without thinking of (or looking for) men na ma-tsutsu. Ching lang po!)

  6. Okay, hanggang Photoshop 7.0 lang ako. Poor me. I want Adobe Illustrator and I’ll be happy.

    In terms of Adobe-ing, nako. Hanggang brushes lang ako at konting adjust at edit ng mga layers. Wala pa ako sa mga sketches at kung ano-ano.

    :p Normal lang ang 5 hours sa Adobe. Yun nga lang, sakit sa ulo.

  7. hey welcome to the club! i’ve been wanting to learn vector painting but im sooo not artistically gifted. boo!

  8. @lyka – matsutsu, ano yun(?). Pavirgin lang ang lolo..nyahahahaha!

    @UtakGAGO – yikes, so normal pala ang sakit sa ulo na nararamdaman ko..huwaaaahhhhhh!!!

    @Lei – I am learning vectors too. I’m actually happy now coz I am learning a few tricks of my own using photoshop. I will surely post my output as soon as i finish it. Adobe is sooo tricky!

  9. haha kuya ako rin natatanga na sa Photoshop. I guess trial and error is still the best way to master the craft

  10. dude, anong email mo? 13 mb to ha. hehehe. I’m not sure kung masesend thru email.

  11. @Arch – I am doing that now – trial and lots of errors.huhuhu. They say that if I practice a lot, i’ll defionitely improve my photoshop skills.

    @Q – thanks bro, i sent you a pvt message in bloglog. :p

  12. Kaya naman pala mapula…nag-uuminit ang mhin!

  13. photoshop cs has been a friend for a long while. it takes long hours of cuddling, caressing, petting and love to have it relent to your every desire. seloso yan, oboids. you have to give a lot of time.

    and you did. and i think you did well. 5 long, grueling hours may not be enough to learn him but it sure helps one to get past introductions.

    gusto ko ang figure 4.0. maganda sya para sa akin.

    p.s. ang masarap sa pagtira dito, may gumaganang public library na puno ng libro na maaari mong magamit sa buong talambuhay mo. maximize those privileges kung meron dyan sa paligid ng tinutuluyan mo.

    enjoy photoshopping!

  14. Photoshopping is indeed a great skill to master. Inggit ako sa maraming visual artists na out of this world talaga yung talent. Pahingi ng tips sometime dude. Hehe.

    Anyway, NEW VIDEO UP!🙂

  15. @kks – thanks sa pagencourage dude. I am actually learning a lot. I am learning to a little more patient. Hehe. I am definitely enjoying it though. :p

    @Coy – Sure bro. I’ll even post some helpful links na madadaanan ko online for the benefit of people like us who’s trying to learn the ins and outs of photoshopping. :p I’ll drop by your blog and watch your latest vlog. Thanks for visiting my blog dude.

  16. photoshop sure is tricky. i have long wanted to learn it, but never have the patience for trial and error. pero parang naencourage ako dito sa post mo. thanks!🙂

  17. @Jun – long time no see ahh! Kumusta yung dental seminar?? Hope it went well. :p I am still learning basic photoshop techniques. There are so many things I need to learn. What I plan to do now though is to buy my own drawing tablet. :-p

  18. Oboids: ok lang yung PDA convention, toxic pa din.
    nah, wala akong kaalam alam kung ano ang drawing tablet…ano nga ba yan?🙂

  19. @jun – tool sya na ihohook mo sa laptop mo, para pwede ka magdrawing na lang dun tapos automatic na syang matatransfer sa PC mo. tapos pwede mo yun i link sa photoshop para madaling magedit. maganda yun kasi para ka lang nagdadrawing sa papel, ang hirap kaya magshade kung mouse lang gamit mo. sakit sa kamay. hehe. great to know your seminar went well. :p

  20. thanks oboids. pasensya na, tech challenged itong fan mo. hehehe.
    kaya pala ako nafufrustrate sa pagpinta, kako ba’t ang galing ng iba eh pinagmamalaki ko pa naman ang aking manual dexterity?! LOL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

